CBD and Muscle Spasms

I've been having severe dystonia, muscle "cramps" at night, in which the muscle firing locks the muscles in place. It's a nightmare. Makes REM sleep nearly impossible because I can only sleep 2-3 hours before I wake with a start--and my left foot is locked in place. It resolves upon waking, though I get flashes throughout the day that don't affect daily activities.

Why do I mention this?

Because THC does NOT help with this. Makes it worse, in fact.

CBD bud does help, though. I can still only sleep 2-3 hours at a time, but it's a restful sleep.

Just thought I should document this somewhere. My girlfriend is tired of hearing about it...

Comments

• edited June 2020

I should confess I'm a science writer. So here's a public service message: If what you're trying isn't working...it might be because of scale, proportion, and quantity.

Think, "The dose makes the poison."

THC, as used by the medicines on this site, seems to have at least two different effects. At the level of Phoenix Tears/RSO, the dosage is an order of magnitude higher than smoking or regular edible consumption. The effect is inflammatory--the opposite of smoking. I don't use these medicines for fun. Instead, I put them up my ass.* Near my prostate. In coconut oil suppositories. I'm precancer with prostate issues. The levels of PSA, the cancer marker, have decreased in the year I've been doing this. This is one of the few documented facts I have. There's no cause and effect demonstrated--I haven't had sex in a year, either...maybe that caused it, right...common science error is confusing correlation with causation. Given that Rick Simpson (and others I imagine) wrote books on this subject, though, it is compelling.

Then there's CBD (and other, non-stony varieties). This, too, is completely different medicine.

I'll leave it at that for today.