Many Kinds of Concentrate

These days there are many different kinds of medical marijuana concentrate. It can be confusing for traditionalists who are used to just one kind of concentrate - hashish, or "hash" - to figure out. I admit that I'm still learning myself, but with your help I hope to keep a list here of the different kinds of concentrates you can find today on the Medicineman site:

• Bubble Hash isn't so much a kind of hashish as a grade of quality. Literally it means that if you heat it at the right temperature, without burning it, the hash will bubble up and vaporize clean. That means it's a well-filtered extract without extra chlorophyll to ruin the taste or lingering additives, like fertilizer, in the concentrate. Translation: this is good quality hash!
  • Kief is a product we don't currently have on our menu (Oct 2018) but we get it fairly often. Basically it's the same stuff as hashish, but it's extracted a different way. While hash is washed or rubbed out of the cannabis plant, kief is mechanically separated either by agitation or grinding up. Its quality basically depends on the quality of cannabis used to make it; I've had some kiefs that truly blew me away! But it's gotten a reputation as a lower quality extract because many suppliers just extract it from their leftovers in an attempt to squeeze a little more profit out of their grows.
  • Rosin is a cool extraction technique that's like 'hash plus' because it's chemical free like hash but yields a more flavorful, more potent extract. Instead of water, the extractor uses heat and pressure. Sometimes they just use two flat stones warmed up a bit, then squish cannabis wrapped in wax paper. It works a lot better than you'd think! The result is an extract that is a lot like shatter, but is easier to handle and tastes better in my opinion.