Today's Quiz

Why might a breeder cross a strong-smelling parent with a weak-smelling one when making a new variety?

(I wrote that item yesterday for a science test to go with a textbook I'm an author on.)

My example in the item (there's more to the item) was oregano. Ha ha ha...

As I developed this example, I was thinking specifically of the ruderalis gene that was used for developing autoflower seeds.

Decode your answer in the space below!

Comments

• I don't know much about breeding different varieties of cannabis, but from a little bit of research I did, it seems that breeders cross strains in order to refine and strengthen specific traits from the parent plants. Traits commonly targeted are, aroma, size, yield, terpene profiles, and thc/cbd strength or potency. Also, sativas and indicas can be combined to produce a hybrid which it's can be more suited for indoor. Especially when it comes to ruderalis which isnoften combined with a sativa strain to increase thc levels. The same can be done with an indica and ruderalis to create a more cbd leaning strain.

The only thing I can think that makes sense is a strong smelling and a weak smelling cross would be low odor, smaller stature, and more potent hybrid.

That's my best guess for now, I'm most likely way off.

• @georgetirebiter Awesome! Thanks haha. I thought there was more to it though.

This is an area of interest for me but I haven't grown anything for 20+ years. My friends and I would save seeds we got from schwag or brick since that was about the best around town then. I would germinate them in a damp paper towel until they sprouted and then planted them in a fish tank set up for hydroponics. The plants were doing great but they ended up getting stolen so we weren't able to harvest and cure them to see how they would have turned out.